A total of 77 Laredo ISD students from Cigarroa, Martin, Nixon, and Hector J. Garcia Early College High Schools received academic recognition from the College Board. This elite group of students were awarded the National African American Recognition Award (NAARA), National First-Generation Recognition Award (NFGRA) National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA) and/or the National Indigenous Award (NIA).

These recognitions celebrate students' hard work in high school and showcase their strong academic performance. The academic honors for rural area, Black, Indigenous, and/or Latino students are an opportunity for students to share their strong academic achievements with colleges and scholarship programs that are seeking to recruit diverse talent. 

Students who earned College Board Recognition from Cigarroa High School include the following: 

  • Miriam Bahena, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Gael Esquivel (CHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Jedidiah Fipps, NFGRA

  • Kevin Frayde (CHS/PTECH), NFGRA, NIRA, NHRA

  • David Gonzalez (CHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA. NHRA

  • Yandiel Hernandez (CHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Christopher Jasso (CHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NHRA

  • Kevyn Palomares, NHRA

  • Aiden Rodriguez Carrero, NHRA

Students who earned College Board Recognition from Garcia Early College High School include the following: 

  • Jose Alvarez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Jose Arredondo, NHRA

  • Alessandra Barberena, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Caleb Benavides, NHRA

  • Gaspar Castellanos, NFGRA

  • Jaqueline Ciriaco, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Aidan Contreras, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Richard Deschampe, NFGRA

  • Robert Estrada, NIRA, NHRA

  • Giselle Figueroa, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Amador Flores, III, NHRA

  • Mikayla Flores, NHRA

  • Sara Flores, NHRA

  • Lezly Flowers, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Miranda Galvan, NHRA

  • Alice Garcia, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Giorgy Guzman, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Pablo Guzman, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Melina Hernandez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Marcos Hernandez Flores, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Alicia Jimenez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Valeria Luis, NHRA

  • Sofia Madrigal, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Karmen Manzanares, NFGRA

  • Isabella Mendoza, NHRA

  • Gina Montoya, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Mario Mora, NHRA

  • Sophia Moreno, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Mark Muñoz, NIRA, NHRA, NAARA

  • David Narvaez, NAARA

  • Yuliet Parra, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Christopher Ramirez, NHRA

  • Isabel Reyna, NHRA

  • Marcos Rodriguez, NHRA

  • Viktorya Salas, NFGRA

  • Zachary Smith, NHRA

  • Michelle Soto, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Jasmine Vasquez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Alfredo Zavala, NFGRA, NHRA, NAARA


Students who earned College Board Recognition from Martin High School include the following: 

  • Gabriel Benavides (MHS/Cantu ECHS), NHRA

  • Keyla Deleon (MHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • David Gamboa (MHS/Cantu ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Natalie Gonzalez (MHS/Cantu ECHS), NFGRA

  • Michael Hernandez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Daniella Lopez, NHRA

  • Yarumi Martinez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Jesus Martinez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Rene Martinez, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Briana Morales (MHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Rodrigo Peralta, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Julian Selvera (MHS/Cantu ECHS), NHRA

Students who earned College Board Recognition from Nixon High School include the following: 

  • Vanessa Alba (NHS/VMT), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Veronica Cadena (NHS/VMT), NFGRA

  • Jose Castañeda (NHS/BIPS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Sayuri Garcia (NHS/BIPS), NHRA

  • Manuel Gomez (NHS/BIPS), NFGRA

  • Adriana Gomez (NHS/VMT), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Gerardo Guerra (NHS/BIPS), NHRA

  • Oscar Jimenez (NHS/VMT), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Maya Lopez (NHS/VMT), NHRA

  • Jaime Lozano, NHRA

  • Diego Marines (NHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NFGRA, NHRA

  • Brian Portillo, NFGRA, NHRA

  • Austlynn Quiroz (NHS/BIPS), NHRA

  • Mathew Ramon (NHS/BIPS), NIRA, NHRA

  • Christian Reyes (NHS/Sabas Perez ECHS), NHRA

  • Rodrigo Rodriguez (NHS/BIPS), BFGRA

  • Zoe Sifuentes (NHS/BIPS), NFGRA

"Laredo ISD takes immense pride in the commitment and aspirations of our students towards a promising future. We extend our gratitude to the College Board for acknowledging the diligence of our students. Over the duration of this recognition initiative, we've witnessed a consistent rise in the number of qualified students. This serves as a testament to their dedication in excelling in college preparatory assessments, upholding stellar academic records, and consistently pursuing avenues to become influential leaders within our community and beyond. We eagerly anticipate their forthcoming achievements and triumphs," Cindy Dominguez, LISD Director of Guidance and Counseling/At-Risk Population said.

The criteria for eligible students include: GPA of 3.5 or higher, PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 assessment scores that are within the top 10% of assessment takers in each state for each award program or earned a score of 3 or higher on 2 or more AP Exams in 9th and 10th grade, and attend school in a rural area or small town, or identify as African American/Black, Hispanic American/Latino, or Indigenous/Native.

Eligible students are invited to apply on BigFuture during their sophomore or junior year and are awarded at the start of the next school year in time to share their achievements in high school as they plan for the future. At the same time, colleges and organizations using College Board’s Student Search Service™ can connect directly with awardees during the recruitment process.

“It’s becoming increasingly hard for students to be ‘seen’ during the college recruitment process. We’re exceptionally proud of the National Recognition Programs for celebrating students who are at times overlooked but have shown their outstanding academic abilities,” said Tarlin Ray, Senior Vice President of BigFuture® at College Board. “This is a benefit not only for students but also for colleges and universities committed to recruiting diverse and talented students.”