Nixon High School inducted 12 new members to their Mustang Legends during a special ceremony at the NHS Richard Barton Gym. The Legends were recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions as distinguished graduates of Nixon High School.

These 12 outstanding individuals excelled while they were students and continued to excel after they left the hallways of Nixon High School.

The inductees include a patron of the arts who has made an impact on local theater, a former ROTC student who used his experience to shape his career in law enforcement, and a rancher whose love for agriculture has led him to share his passion for the past 30 years.

Also honored was a woman who was named the first female chief of police in our city, and a gentleman who aspires to help other Hispanics soar in the world of business, and a female attorney who has dedicated over 20 years to public service.

The honorees also include a Texas Ranger whose civic duty goes beyond ensuring the safety of all, a former teenage radio DJ who now uses her skills as a government spokesperson, and various educators whose passion to provide children the best education is evident all across Laredo.

This year’s inductees include Anthony Mayers – 1975, Alfredo “Gus” Perez – 1976, Elizabeth Beckelhymer Arciniega – 1977, Luis Castro, 1985, Luis Tinajero, Sr. – 1988, Lizette Munoz Trevino 1989, Doreen Hale – 1991, Sara Melendez – 1992, Melinda Vidaurri – 1993, Jamie Cantu Vargas – 1996, Pedro “Pete’ Fuentes – 1997, and Gilbert F. Moreno – 1997.